PDA

View Full Version : Question about a Rincon for sale


dcfox
12-11-2009, 04:39 PM
I have recently found a Rincon listed on Craigslist that is an extremely good price.
I emailed the seller asking if it was still available and if the price was correct(and if not what was the correct price).

This is the response I got(I deleted the asking price from the quote)...


The price for this bike is: $XXXX
I want to tell you that I am not selling this bike for profit or due a lack of money. All I can say is that some recent events in my life made me change my perception of certain things, things that I’ve considered important in the past. I will donate all money to charity after I sell this bike. I am currently on a trip for UNICEF.
The bike has a clear title, is in an excellent condition, no dents or scratches. The motor runs very well. I don’t want to offend you but the bike is priced for a fast sale so please if you intend to apply for a loan or financing do not reply.
The transaction will be made through eBay company for the safety of both. I’ve already included the bike into eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection, so I will sell only through this.
If you want to buy the bike, and you agree with my terms please reply so I can give you a detailed description of the eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection.

Waiting for your reply.

Thank you,


Does this sound like a scam...or not?
It would be about a 6 hour drive for me to get this bike...and it is a good enough deal that I would drop everything and go get it asap.

850PoPo
12-11-2009, 04:50 PM
And your not on your way to pick it up ? Go now if the price is right !

jasonch
12-11-2009, 04:52 PM
sounds fishy for sure. cant talk to anyone on the phone?

dcfox
12-11-2009, 04:55 PM
Here's the problem...it's not listed on ebay.I was just reading through the policies for eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection and it only covers if the vehicle is purchased through an ebay transaction.

It is a 2008 and lets just say that it's priced at less than half of what it should be worth.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/dcfox/atvcraig.jpg

hampster_rancher
12-11-2009, 04:57 PM
Sounds like a scam to me. Ask where it is located.

jasonch
12-11-2009, 04:59 PM
it looks brand new!

dcfox
12-11-2009, 05:00 PM
I just sent her this reply...

Would it be possible for me to see the Rincon in person before the transaction?If so I can drive to San Antonio whenever is convenient for you and if we agree then I can make the transaction through ebay or however you like(I could even pay cash),load the atv up and take it and the title home.

dcfox
12-11-2009, 06:02 PM
Ok...it's a scam...it's listed all over the country on Craigslist.

Mole
12-11-2009, 06:27 PM
If you EVER see an ATV for sale for a fraction of what it should be worth don't even bother with it cause it is a scam. I see them all the time on Craigslist. Responses like the one you got are a bunch of bologna.

89lxstanger
12-11-2009, 07:06 PM
ya i inquired about a harley with the same BS spewed from the lips i tucked tail and ran

Atomic_Sportsman
12-11-2009, 08:07 PM
I say send them a fake MO or Cashiers Check. Bet that would piss em off.

mac102004
12-11-2009, 08:59 PM
Yup I seen that for sale on the local Kijiji about 3 months ago. Scam.

850PoPo
12-11-2009, 11:30 PM
Gotta love a@@holes like this one waste of everyones time and effort

CorrosionX
12-12-2009, 12:23 AM
the simple "Waiting for your reply" gave it away for me.


See hat in literally every craigslist scam.

dcfox
12-12-2009, 12:25 AM
Well...the search for a great deal continues.lol.

CorrosionX
12-12-2009, 10:09 AM
I came across an 06 outty 800 on my local craigslist for $2950
Contacted them, had more then the asking price in cash in my wallet ready to go.

Seler replied stating they moved to texas.
Why the hell list the bike in Illinois if you moved from Texas.
Not a single thing sounded legit, i never replied back.